Fair Trade Towns

The Fair Trade movement is supported by people across all five major continents, which is showed i.e. through Fair Trade Towns. They are communities of people and organisations across the world, which are working to promote Fair Trade in their area and use their everyday choices to increase sales of Fair Trade products and bring about positive change for farmers and workers in developing countries. Becoming a Fair Trade Town is a shared achievement and an opportunity for local authorities, schools, businesses, community organisations and activists to work together.

In 2000 Garstang (North West England) was declared the world’s first Fair Trade Town. Since then the number of towns has increased over 1.250 in 24 countries all over the world and so 3 towns in the South have made their own self declarations as Fair Trade Towns: Perez Zeledon (Costa Rica), Alfenas (Brazil), and New Koforidua (Ghana).


Subscribe to the newsletter.